Internet Subject Guides - Job Search Sites

Finding the right job requires research. These online job tools and sites will help in the process.

Skill Assessment Sites

  • Testing and Education Resource Center (Available through the library's online databases ) - This database features interactive online practice tests for preparatory examinations including entrance exams, certification and licensing tests: including the ACT, CLEP, GED, GMAT, GRE, SAT, Civil Service andothers.The Testing & Education Reference Center also includes PDF versions of respected college and career handbooksand includes "Essay Edge" and "Resume Edge" to help users organize and write application essays and resumes.
  • Job Hunters Bible -The computer companion to What Color is Your Parachute? The Library of Congress included that book on its list of books most likely to change your life.
  • Quintessential Careers - Transferable skill articles with lists of skills and advise on how to emphasis them in your resume.
  • Motivational Skills -You might be most successful doing what you enjoy rather than what you are good at. On this employment placement company’s website take a test to learn how this concept affects your career decisions.
  • Occupational Outlook Handbook - Hundreds of different types of jobs—such as teacher, lawyer, nurse are listed in the Occupational Outlook Handbook. You’ll learn: the training and education needed, earnings by region, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job, and working conditions

Resume Writing

Popular Directories or Gateway Portals

Librarian created sites

  • Illinois Clicks - Created by volunteer librarians throughout Illinois. The directory covers reference librarians most frequently asked questions. Jobs and Careers have 13 sub categories each containing numerous links.
  • Chicago Public Library - Chicago librarians have 8 subcategories including ranging from how to to geographical searching. Some databases that may only be accessible to Chicago card holders. Very good listing of Government links.
  • Skokie Public Library - A great suburban resource. The home library for Frances Roehm, librarian and author of The Guide to Internet Job Searching. She was grant writer for Illinois clicks and the creator of Chicago Jobs The definitive Chicago area job guide.
  • Jobstar - One of the original directories for employment resources. This has been refined by California librarians for more than 10 years. Great source for articles and search strategy suggestions.
  • Libraries Internet Index - 26 subcategories – under job hunting with everything from affirmative action to youth.
  • Job-Hunting on the Internet - Dig deep into Job hunters bible site and you will find every web address mentioned in Mark Bolles latest top seller.
  • Jobhunt - Extremely well organized Look in the subcategory Job Sites and Employers - over 5,100 links to job sites and employers by state.
  • The Riley Guide - High praise everywhere for Margaret E. Dikel, formerly Margaret Riley. Often called the Grandmother of this profession, her site includes links to sites sorted by both industry and profession.
  • College Grad - Concentrates on information for people just exiting college. This site is continuously being updated and has something for all professionals.
  • Career One Stop is an integrated suite of national web sites sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor.

Researching Potential Employers

  • A. ReferenceUSA (subscription database available the library ) - Use ReferenceUSA databaseto finddetailed information on more than 12 million U.S. businesses Use a power search to find business that specialize in your area of study, by location, or size of employer. Learn the name of prominent officers and in some cases public records about potential employers. It automatically uses Google to search for relevant press releases concerning the company. If you are searching off site – The system should ask for your library card – if it doesn’t you need to add this site to your security system –see the help link on our site.
  • Chicago Business power by Crain’s - Link to Crain’s list. Many cost money but not the Who’s Who list of top Chicago executives. List includes names, address, phone numbers, web sites and professional affiliations
  • Open Directory Project - The largest directory on the web with over 4.4 million sites maintained by more than 64,000 volunteers. Especially helpful in sorting by occupation, industry, and professional associations.
  • Yahoo Business and Economy - A search engine with directories to classifieds, schools, networking and related topics.
  • ThomasNet - This is the website for the Thomas Register. Manufactures and purchasing resource. This is not a bad place to look if you want to work for a company that has a product to sell. The book still has more information. The internet is updated more frequently.
  • Hoovers (some parts charge a fee) - The free information geared towards publicly held companies include officers, sales , growth numbers, employees, major competitors, news, data about the industry. More detailed information requires a fee.
  • Bizjournals - This site gathers articles from publications across the country allowing you to search by company or people. Registration required but access is free. Currently does not index Chicago area papers.
  • Networking
  • LinkedIn - Remember this is a business network site. Registration requires contact information geographical limits and topics you are willing to discuss. Links are voluntary - you control the size and scope of your network.
  • Wetfeet - One of the better job hunting sites includes chat rooms.

Other Online Resources